Anime Blues Volunteers!

abc3_zpsddbadda1

Hey all, how’s it going?

I know it’s a little late, but I’ve been a tad bit busy as of late. I’m here to talk to you all about the recently attended Anime Blues Con #3! It was an edified experience. At first, I wasn’t going to go because I was caught up with work and strapped for funds. I didn’t want a free entry to go to waste. After countless planning and rescheduling, I was able to make it. I decided to volunteer and it started off quite slow at first; however, it became a huge success by the end of it all. Going to a convention to take in the atmosphere is awesome and all, but there’s only so much you can do. I want to work hard and play harder. So, by the time all of the volunteer hours on my end are taken care of, I want to be able to go party with the best of them. I mean, who can say they volunteered for 15+ hours and go out on Beale with Wendee Lee, Steve Blum, LittleKuriboh, or Chris Patton? -raises hand-

601579_529997223712138_1723811344_n

Now, it isn’t all fun and games unfortunately. There’s a lot of hard work involved with these things. If you want to prove yourself worthy or loyal, you have to work some long hours. It’s not like I was running ragged and being dragged here and there. I wanted to do it. The positions and shifts get a tad bit boring after a while, so you have to bring a trusty companion like a 3DS or Vita to keep you company. Volunteering is something I didn’t mind doing because it allowed me to meet the guests of honor, the staff, the head of the convention, and interact with the con-goers without too many problems. Not to mention, I’m just a helpful guy. I like to lend my talents and assistance to people because if I can brighten someone’s day with my hard work, I know I can do the same for myself.

actor_274

It’s not for those who like to play around, however. I know a lot of people enjoy conventions. If you’ve already told the staff that you’re here to work, you’re hired to do a job. Granted, you’re not getting paid monetarily for it; however, you get paid in hours for your free access to the convention next year. You don’t have to volunteer that next year since you’ve worked hard enough for this time around! You could also become friendly with Staff and Directors to use this for resume experience and information. It’ll be a good outlook for you in the near future! You also get free stuff! Who doesn’t like free stuff?

chris_patton

Honestly, if I could magically muster up a redo watch from Fairly Odd Parents and redo this weekend, I would gladly do it. I mean, it was so much fun volunteering, but my free/down time was worth all of the hours worked. Making new friends, partying with well-known voice actors, and getting thins in priority was just the stepping stone. I don’t know how you guys feel about helping others, but I know the ultimate prize for it all was seeing the smiles on the faces of the staff and directors once the convention was over. But ultimately, I know I helped a con-goers experience THAT much better by assisting them when they needed me, being available for that one parent who needed my help, or for that one kid who wanted to know where the treasure hunt was. At the end of the day, Anime Blues Con 3 was an amazing success and I would like for all of you to head on down to Memphis, TN next year just for it! Besides….we here at The Realist Lounge will most likely be on Staff or the Media Crew next year!

Until next time, stay golden cowboy. Bang.

28935_510485928996601_2123783113_n

Leave a Reply

